PRE-FRINGE PROFILE: NATURAL NOVICE

SHOW TITLE: NATURAL NOVICE
PRODUCER: Siobhan O’Loughlin
HAILING FROM: Brooklyn, New York
SHOW DESCRIPTION: Siobhan moves from a commune to NYC; analyzes the implications of not shaving her body hair; and contemplates how a woman defines herself, no matter what she looks like.
WHAT CAUGHT MY INTEREST: I dunno. I’m not particularly inclined to shave my body hair, and I’m baffled by the notion that others are pressured to — to do anything one way or the other with their bodies, really.
INTERVIEWEE: Siobhan O’Loughlin (writer/performer)

Just who do you think you are, anyway?

My name is Siobhan O’Loughlin! I’m a theatre maker/activist/blah blah blah from Brooklyn. I like riding bikes, eating veggies, and listening to the dulcet tones of that sweet Midwestern accent. 

So what’s the big idea?

My play is called “Natural Novice” and it is a solo show about female body hair. I perform as seven different women (all real people, and all diverse–different races, gender identities, sexual orientations) who reveal their stories of shaving, waxing–or not doing any of those things.

How did you come up with a screwy idea like that?

Because, Phillip. I’m a 26 year old woman who doesn’t shave. That’s a thing, you know.

Why should I care?

You should care because I was called “repulsive” and a “hairy ape” by NYC critic from “Hi! Drama!” I don’t actually agree with those statements–but you might want to find out what is os darn controversial and created so much fuss.

Here’s my tumblr with more info about that review: http://siobhansolo.tumblr.com/post/88974436951/a-home-for-fleas-a-hive-for-the-buzzin-bees

Justify your show’s existence in haiku form.

Hair, the beauty the 
Splendor, the wonder of my 
Hair, Hair, Hair, Oh, Hair.
 
Leave a Reply

