Pre-Fringe Profile: Hope You Guess My Name

20150226

CAVEAT: I have worked with several of the artists involved in this project.

SHOW TITLE: Hope You Guess My Name
PRODUCER: Ante-Deluvian Productions|
HAILING FROM: Minneapolis, Minnesota
SHOW DESCRIPTION: Satan is out buying fresh souls and giving people anything they could ever want. His customers seem quite satisfied at first, but before long everyone’s fortunes, including his own, take unexpected turns.
WHAT CAUGHT MY INTEREST: I’m a sucker for metaphysical comedies.
INTERVIEWEE: Ari Hoptman (playwright)

Just who do you think you are, anyway?

I’m a Hebrew with a ‘tude. Also a playwright and a comedian. And a German teacher, too.

So what’s the big idea?

The show is about Satan having a good evening buying souls from poor shlubs in a fashionable night club. Things go well for everyone until they start not.

How did you come up with a screwy idea like that?

It kinda happened while I was staring at the wall one day. I should stare at walls more often, I guess.

Why should I care?

It’s fun, it’s funny, it has an excellent cast and director, and it’s just blasphemous enough to make you feel good that you yourself didn’t write it.

Justify your show’s existence in haiku form.

This play I done wrote:
I hope it causeth laughter.
If not, no refunds.

Questions? Comments? Enraged invective? Check out my answers to occasionally asked questions in Notes on Notes, or the contact info linked from that page!

2 Responses to “Pre-Fringe Profile: Hope You Guess My Name”

  1. Pre-Fringe Profiles: 2015 Edition | Womb with a View Says:

    […] This play I done wrote: I hope it causeth laughter. If not, no refunds. […]

  2. 2015 Minnesota Fringe Festival Summary | Womb with a View Says:

    […] Machina Pre-Fringe Profile: Dry Humping Art Pre-Fringe Profile: Hank & Jesus (“Hay-soos”) Pre-Fringe Profile: Hope You Guess My Name Pre-Fringe Profile: Mrs Mortimer’s Xenophobic Travel Guide Pre-Fringe Profile: PARIAH, or the […]


Leave a Reply

