Minnesota Fringe Festival: Deus Ex Machina at the Ritz Theater Proscenium

20150133

SHOW TITLE: Deus Ex Machina
PRODUCER: Joey Hamburger
HAILING FROM: Minneapolis
SHOW DESCRIPTION: God stops writing. Conflict ends and people stop dying. Believing this means the end of the world, Adam and Eve convince God to start writing again. He reluctantly creates a sequel to his greatest work, Jesus.

This is a very silly show. Its premise makes that clear. A script that begins with God taking a holiday (practically a comic trope at this point) that then culminates in a surfing competition is at least going in some unexpected directions.

It uses theology as its background, but its theology is not deep (beyond a kind of loosey-goosey existentialism). Insofar as there is a deeper metaphor here, it’s a metaphor about writing, and the conflicted feelings that emerge from the impulse to entertain.

The whole thing feels, oddly, like listening to a particularly inspired barfly spitballing: “Hey, like, what if God took a holiday? And nobody died anymore? And then, like, Jesus came back? Maybe? And there was a scientist there? I dunno.” By which I mean, it doesn’t feel polished. The dialogue and performances are not crisp.

But the thing is, that barfly – and by extension this play – are both so affable that I can’t bring myself to hate either one. Sure, it’s not a masterpiece. But the whole experience is so all-over-the-map ridiculous that there were several occasions I found myself leaning back in my seat with my hand over my mouth, giggling at the kind of spontaneous, drunken logic of the whole thing.

Honestly, I can’t say it’s something I would seek out – but it’s certainly not something that I regret having sat through.

Questions? Comments? Enraged invective? Check out my answers to occasionally asked questions in Notes on Notes, or the contact info linked from that page!

One Response to “Minnesota Fringe Festival: Deus Ex Machina at the Ritz Theater Proscenium”

  1. 2015 Minnesota Fringe Festival Summary | Womb with a View Says:

    […] Loophole. Confessions of a Delinquent Cheerleader Craigslist: Not a Musical! Dance with the Devil Deus Ex Machina Falling Man Ferguson, USA FRANKENSTEIN Growing Into My Beard Hey Bangladesh “Mom?” A Comedy of […]


Leave a Reply

