Pre-Fringe Profile: To Kill a Minnesotan

CAVEAT: I have worked with one of the actors (Matt Allex) on a handful of projects in the past.

20160607

SHOW TITLE: To Kill a Minnesotan
PRODUCER: Foxhill Studios
SHOW DESCRIPTION: A small town is haunted by a missing person and family secrets are finally revealed. Go back to the 1920’s and witness as these threads unravel. Ask yourself at the end: Would you open the box?
WHAT CAUGHT MY INTEREST: Period drama? Creepy small town riddled with dark secrets? Based on a true story? Yes, please!
INTERVIEWEE: JL Charrier (writer/director/performer)

Just who do you think you are, anyway?

I first stepped on stage at age six and immediately knew it was the place for me.  After decades of working in theatre and musical performance, I am intimately familiar with the process.  My company, Foxhill Studios, was established in 2011 with the purpose of creating promotional trailers for local small theatres, since I was also doing pro bono promotional work.  As of 2014, I expanded Foxhill Studios to create a base for my own theatre productions, in which I also am the playwright, director and an actor.  Other hats I wear as a producer include prop master, costumer, set designer and promotions manager.  When I create a play, I am involved with all aspects of its production.

So what’s the big idea?

An earnest search for the truth can sometimes lead to unintended and ultimately devastating consequences.  “To Kill a Minnesotan” is based on a true and unsolved disappearance of a Minnesotan.  The audience bears witness and is left to wonder:  “Would you open the box?”

How did you come up with a screwy idea like that?

I grew up knowing about this small-town incident and as a writer I couldn’t help but do research about the case and expand it into a fictionalized stage play.  I also enjoy doing period pieces and this show is set in time ranging from 1900-1928.

Why should I care?

The essence of “To Kill a Minnesotan” is about the complexities of family relationships when placed under severe duress.  The audience will be able to identify with the characters personally or know people who are like them.  There are twists, turns and local humor included along with several flashbacks to support the narrative.  This drama is highly engaging and expertly acted, with an unforgettable ending.

Justify your show’s existence in haiku form.

Is it worth the cost
Truth can be tricky poker
Come see for yourself

Questions? Comments? Enraged invective? Check out my answers to occasionally asked questions in Notes on Notes, or the contact info linked from that page!

One Response to “Pre-Fringe Profile: To Kill a Minnesotan”

  1. Pre-Fringe Profiles: 2016 Edition | Womb with a View Says:

    […] Is it worth the cost Truth can be tricky poker Come see for yourself […]


Leave a Reply

