Pre-Fringe Profile: And To Think That I Saw It At 221B Baker’s Street

CAVEAT: I have worked *extensively* with one of the writers (Tim Wick) and am currently directing him in another Fringe show.

20161131

SHOW TITLE: And To Think That I Saw It At 221B Baker’s Street
PRODUCER: Rooftop Theatre Company
SHOW DESCRIPTION: Strange things are afoot in the mysterious English village of Whoville. Can Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson figure out Moriarty’s evil scheme before it is too late for the British Empire?
WHAT CAUGHT MY INTEREST: Many Fringe shows are about mashing up unlike things. Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Seuss are two things that I very much like.
INTERVIEWEE: Tim Wick (co-writer)

Just who do you think you are, anyway?

I’m a writer a comedian.  I’ve written and co-written several shows for the Fringe including Highlander: The Musical, The Complete Works of William Shatner: Abridged, Top Gun: The Musical, and The Sound of Footloose: The Not Musical.  I’m the Artistic Director of Fearless Comedy Productions.  I’m a frequent contributor to The Not-So-Silent Planet, a speculative fiction open mic.  I’m the co-host of the Geeks Without God podcast as well as A Reel Education podcast.

I’m also in a band.

So I guess the answer is that I do a lot of stuff.  Most of it is writing stuff.

So what’s the big idea?

And to Think That I Saw it on 221B Baker Street is a story about what happens when Professor Moriarty kidnaps Things 1 & 2 and the Cat in the Hat asks Sherlock Holmes to find them.

It combines the worlds of Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes with the crazy world of Doctor Seuss.  Neither reality will ever be the same again.

How did you come up with a screwy idea like that?

Boy, I wish I knew.

Originally, we (my co-producer John Newstrom and I) were debating between two different musicals.  Unfortunately, we couldn’t settle on either idea definitively and I eventually admitted that I just didn’t have time to write a musical any more.  John asked if I had any other ideas.

I honestly didn’t.  I’d bee so focused on the musical that I hadn’t been thinking about other show concepts.  So I told him I’d sleep on it and see if anything came to me.

As is frequently the case for me, I came up with the idea on the drive home from that meeting.  I don’t remember if I started with Dr. Seuss or Sherlock Holmes.  It was probably Sherlock Holmes.  Yes – OK – it was Sherlock Holmes.

I was thinking about how there have been several modern takes on the Holmes character and I was interested in taking the more classical Holmes and combining him with a somewhat ridiculous case.  I was interested in the interplay between the serious Holmes and a world that was not all that serious.

Holmes wouldn’t change to fit the new environment.  He’d still be Holmes.  So in thinking through what would provide a really massive contrast to that character, I landed on Dr. Seuss.  Probably because there was something just perfect about the title “And to Think That I Saw it on 221B Baker Street.”

Of course, I talk about doing a classic Holmes and then we cast Dawn Krosnowski as Sherlock Holmes.  So it doesn’t end up being all that classic.  But if you have an actress as versatile as Dawn, you’d be a fool to cast her as anything else.

Why should I care?

Poetry!  You have no idea how many rhyming couplets I had to write for this show. 

It is also a show that is completely clean.  That doesn’t mean adults won’t enjoy it because I absolutely believe they will.  But you can bring your kids and I think they’ll love it as well.

I think we have a great cast.  Dawn Krosnowski is Holmes and she is joined by Sam Poppen as Watson.  Sam played the lead in Top Gun.  They are joined by Edwin Strout as Moriarty, Lana Rosario and Roseah Germ as all the Things, and Johnny Packard and Jason Kruger as the resident of Whoville and London.

I make references to Sneeches, The Lorax, Bartholomew Cubbins and more.  I think it’ll be very enjoyable for fans of Doyle and fans of Theodore Giesel.

And look – you really haven’t lived until you’ve seen Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson have an argument about green eggs and ham.

Justify your show’s existence in haiku form.

Sherlock Holmes and Seuss
A mash-up nobody missed
But why didn’t they?

Questions? Comments? Enraged invective? Check out my answers to occasionally asked questions in Notes on Notes, or the contact info linked from that page!

One Response to “Pre-Fringe Profile: And To Think That I Saw It At 221B Baker’s Street”

  1. Pre-Fringe Profiles: 2016 Edition | Womb with a View Says:

    […] Sherlock Holmes and Seuss A mash-up nobody missed But why didn’t they? […]


Leave a Reply

