Pre-Fringe Profile: Skywatch! Or the unofficial official investigation of possible alien landings on a small mid-western wheat field

CAVEAT: While I have not collaborated closely with Larry, we have a more than passing acquaintance via various storytelling events and the Fringe circuit.

20160793SHOW TITLE: Skywatch! Or the unofficial official investigation of possible alien landings on a small mid-western wheat field
PRODUCER: Blue Moon Theatre Company
SHOW DESCRIPTION: Finding life from other reaches of the galaxy is just a matter of time, but Barry and Carl can’t wait; they want to meet an alien NOW! Join this laugh a minute voyage departing from a mid-western wheat field.
WHAT CAUGHT MY INTEREST: Aliens! And I, too, have been geeking out about recent Kepler discoveries.
INTERVIEWEE: Lawrence Ripp (playwright)

Just who do you think you are, anyway?

I am a 37 year vet of The Twin Cities Theater Scene with many hats worn over the years.  Actor, producer, playwright and director sometimes all at once.  I am also becoming very well known as “Sir Sydney Soapington”  The Baron Of Bubble! a character I’ve created to go along with my big bubble act I do at fairs, festivals, parties and you name it.  Bubbles are always welcome and make Great BIG bubbles!

So what’s the big idea?

Skywatch is only part of the title to my show. The FULL title says it all.  “Skywatch!  Or, The unofficial, official investigation of possible alien landings on a small Midwestern wheatfield.”   Crop circles meet Laurel and Hardy is another way to look at it.

How did you come up with a screwy idea like that?

I have a very big interest in life off the planet.  I have a dream of science finding conclusive evidence of life off our planet during my lifetime however slim those chances are.  This play is an extension of my own obsession with this idea.  The characters say things I believe in and their dreams are my dreams.

Why should I care?

Skywatch was first written and produced in 1993 and was met with success on a brief tour of venues in Minnesota and Wisconsin.  It is funny!  I wrote it to have at least 2 laughs per minute and hopefully more.  I never thought it got seen enough when it was first produced so I’m bringing it back. Why now? NEW PLANETS are being found just about every day by the Kepler telescope and soon the Webb will bring even more planets to light.  Skywatch is up to the minute and timeless. 

Justify your show’s existence in haiku form.

Life elsewhere can be,
something we all want to see.
And the fun’s on me.

Questions? Comments? Enraged invective? Check out my answers to occasionally asked questions in Notes on Notes, or the contact info linked from that page!

One Response to “Pre-Fringe Profile: Skywatch! Or the unofficial official investigation of possible alien landings on a small mid-western wheat field”

  1. Pre-Fringe Profiles: 2016 Edition | Womb with a View Says:

    […] Life elsewhere can be, something we all want to see. And the fun’s on me. […]


Leave a Reply

